Skip to Content

The foundation of the Hahndorf Rifle Club began in the Union Hotel, now known as the Hahndorf Inn on June 6, 1864. The founding members were confirmed on July 11th 1864 and Gottlieb Andreas Schuetze the Publican was appointed 1st President and membership was struck at 2/6 pence. The first Koenigschiessen or Kingshoot was held November 7th 1864, with 27 shooters present. This event was won by F. Sonnemann, who received a silver medal and 63 shillings ($6.30). Which at the time was a considerable amount.Although other King shoots occurred, no records were kept until December 27th 1869. From this date all competitors at Kingshoots have had their scores recorded. In 1900 three consecutive Kingshoots were won by J.T. Lake, and has been equaled three times since; once by A.A. Pitman 1954-56 and twice by Neville Jones 2009-11 and 2013-15. In 1918 a new record was set by R. Borchers when he shot 153 out of a possible 156. This record stood until 1961 when N. Rule scored 155, who went on to win a total of nine Kingships. The first person to shoot a double possible was D.W.Overall in 1978. R. Trevelyan was the last person to win using black powder with a score of 151 in 1957. Neville Jones, winner of the 2020 Kingshoot has won this event a record total of 18 times in the following years 1982, 1985, 1988, 1990, 1993, 1994, 1996, 1998, 2002, 2007, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2018 and 2020


Neville Jones – Kingshoot Winner in 2018